Oregon State Bar Bulletin — JANUARY 2006

Bar News

Pro Bono Roll Call under way
Bar members can download a print copy of the reporting form or report online at www.osbar.org/probono. Everyone who participates in the Pro Bono Roll Call is entered into the Oregon New Lawyer Division Pro Bono Challenge. The deadline for reporting is Jan. 31, 2005.

The division is working hard to increase participation this year. Please help by distributing copies of the 2005 Pro Bono Roll Call brochure at your next section or committee meeting.

To receive informational brochures, contact Debra Cohen Maryanov, Pro Bono Program developer, at (503) 431-6355 or dmaryanov@osbar.org.

Oregon Women Lawyers to present awards March 17
The Oregon Women Lawyers’ 14th annual Justice Betty Roberts and Judge Mercedes Deiz Awards Dinner will be held at the Governor Hotel, in Portland, on March 17. The Roberts-Deiz Dinner honors the accomplishments of individuals who have played a significant role in promoting the interests of women and minorities in the legal profession in Oregon. The dinner is combined annually with a silent auction that raises money for the work of the Oregon Women Lawyers Foundation.

The Roberts-Deiz Dinner is a popular event in the legal community. Last year, a record 550 people attended the event, and the foundation was able to raise more than $12,000 to support its mission to educate the public and the legal community about the needs of women and minorities within the justice system.

The Roberts Award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to promoting women in the legal profession and in the community, by influencing women to pursue legal careers, opening doors for women attorneys, or advancing opportunities for women within the profession.

Past recipients of the award include Justice Betty Roberts, Judge Sid Galton, Helen Althaus, Norma Freitas, Katherine O’Neil, Barrie Herbold, Elizabeth Harchenko, Judge Maureen McKnight, Judge Ellen Rosenblum, S. Diane Rynerson, Diana Crane, Justice Susan Leeson, and Judge Ann Aiken.

The Deiz Award recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to promoting minorities in the legal profession and in the community by influencing minorities to pursue legal careers, opening doors for minority attorneys, or advancing opportunities for minorities within the profession.

Past recipients include Judge Mercedes Deiz, Gayle Patterson, Nargess Shadbeh, Justice Edwin Peterson, Armonica Gilford, Okianer Christian Dark, Judge Janice Wilson, Madelyn Wessel, Lynn Nakamoto, Marva Fabien, Adrienne Nelson, Leonard Girard and Pamela Jacklin, and Stella Manabe.

Information about the award recipients, chosen in mid-December, and tickets for the Roberts-Deiz Dinner can be found at the OWLS’ website, www. oregonwomenlawyers.com or by calling (503) 595-7826.

return to top
return to Table of Contents

Nominations sought for
OSB and ABA houses
of delegates

The Oregon State Bar is currently seeking candidates for the OSB and ABA House of Delegates elections. There are two openings for the ABA House of Delegates and several openings in each region for the OSB House of Delegates. The OSB House of Delegates generally holds one meeting during the year, however a special meeting may be called. The ABA terms are for two years; the OSB terms are for three years.

Current openings by region are:

Region 1: 2

Region 2: 3

Region 3: 3

Region 4: 3

Region 5: 13

Region 6: 4

Out-of-State: 2

The number of delegates is subject to change due to admission of new members, status changes and relocation of offices; the final determination will be made on Feb. 1.

The House of Delegates is a governance forum for the membership through elected and ex officio representatives. The House will debate and decide matters of bar policy as provided in the House of Delegates Rules of Procedure, the bar act, the bylaws and other rules and regulations of the bar. The agenda for the House is developed by the Board of Governors and includes recommendations of sections, committees and the board, together with any resolutions proposed by the membership.

The deadline for filing nominating petitions and candidate statements is March 17. The election offers members two ways to vote: members with an e-mail registered with the bar will receive an e-mail with a link to an electronic ballot; those without an e-mail address will receive a paper ballot.

For more information and to print a copy of the Candidates Statement and Nominating Petition go to www.osbar.org and select Forms Library, or contact Jane Gillespie at (503) 620-0222 or toll-free in Oregon at (800) 452-8260, ext. 308.