View the June 24 presentation below for guidance on the current state of Oregon housing law during the COVID-19 pandemic, including evictions, moratoriums and important pending deadlines.
CDC Eviction Freeze
Oregon's eviction freeze ended June 30, 2021, but the Center for Disease Control's (CDC) freeze on evictions is extended through July 31, 2021. Tenants must meet certain requirements to be protected.
Tenants can see if they qualify and fill out the CDC's Eviction Protection Declaration here to give to their landlord. This video also has more information for tenants.
Tenants who are unable to pay their rent should apply for help from the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) at https://www.oregonrentalassistance.org or any other rent assistance program. Call 2-1-1 or go to https://www.211info.org/ to learn more about rental assistance and other help in your local community.
More Time to Pay Back Rent – Oregon Grace Period
All renters have until February 28, 2022 to pay the unpaid rent they owe from April 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021. Tenants cannot be evicted for back rent from this time period until March 1, 2022.
Landlords cannot charge fees for unpaid rent from April 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021, and cannot report past due rent from this time to a consumer credit reporting agency. A tenant's unpaid rent or eviction from April 1, 2020 – March 1, 2022 cannot count against them in future rental applications.
60 More Days for Renters Who Apply for Help
Starting July 1, Oregon tenants must pay rent for July and going forward unless they qualify for the CDC eviction freeze through July 31.
A new Oregon law (SB 278) gives extra time to tenants who apply for rent assistance and show proof of application through February 28, 2022. Once tenants show proof that they applied for rent help, a landlord must hold off on the eviction process for another 60 days.
Applications for help with back rent and future rent are available now.
Help With Rent
The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program is accepting applications for help paying rent and utility bills. Tenants can get up to 12 months back rent and 3 months future rent paid directly to landlords and utility companies. See if you qualify and apply at https://www.oregonrentalassistance.org/ or by calling 2-1-1, or visit www.211info.org.
You can get information about the Landlord Compensation Fund from Oregon Housing and Community Services. The deadline for landlords to apply for the third and final round of assistance has passed. SB 278 now allows landlords to receive 100% of unpaid rent if you applied through the Landlord Compensation Fund.
Home Foreclosure Freeze Extended
The freeze on foreclosures for home owners facing loss of income due to Covid-19 is extended until September 30, 2021. You must notify your lender or servicer that you cannot make payments. More information is available at the Oregon Division of Financial Regulation.
The following links are designed to help answer some of your questions about landlord and tenant law. The information provided here does not cover every situation and should not be used as a substitute for specific legal advice. Please also note that there have been many recent changes to this area of law in Oregon, and several of the topics are currently under review by our lawyer volunteers. There may also be temporary Covid-specific changes that impact your rights and responsibilities. Please visit our Covid updates for more information.