Oregon New Lawyers Division


The mission of the Oregon New Lawyers Division is to assist new lawyers with the transition to practicing law in Oregon and to engage and leverage new lawyers in support of the mission, functions, and values of the Oregon State Bar.

The Oregon New Lawyers Division has four goals:

  1. That ONLD members understand the mission, functions and values of the Oregon State Bar and participate in its leadership, programs, services, and activities;

  2. Assisting new lawyers with the transition to practicing law in Oregon;

  3. ONLD members have opportunities to use their unique talents and perspectives to explore development of services and activities that advance the mission, functions and values of the Oregon State Bar;

  4. The sharing of information and ideas about the challenges and opportunities for ONLD members in the legal profession.

Any law student presently attending an ABA accredited law school in Oregon is automatically considered an associate member of the ONLD without payment of dues. Individual students at other ABA accredited schools shall be associate members upon request.

Every lawyer who has practiced six years or less, or is 36 years old or younger (whichever is later) is automatically a member of the ONLD. No separate dues are collected by the ONLD and no separate sign up is required to join the Division. The ONLD is the only bar division representing over 3,500 lawyers, approximately 25% of the Bar. The ONLD was created in recognition of the special interests of new lawyers that are often different from those of more experienced attorneys. New lawyers are more likely to be concerned with issues of professional advancement, balancing family and career and substantive legal education.

The ONLD has its own bylaws, budget, programs and committees comprised exclusively of ONLD members. The goals of the ONLD are set by its members and acted upon by the ONLD Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is made up of 11 members, 7 regional members (one from each Bar region), 4 at-large members, and is governed by a chair, chair-elect, secretary and treasurer, all of whom are elected by the ONLD membership at the annual meeting.

Keep in touch with the ONLD:

Executive Committee

Mr. Gzik, Ralph Edward    Chairperson
Ms. Mols, Yvana     Chair-Elect
Ms. Browning, Mae Lee     Past Chair
Mr. Pank, Sean M    Treasurer
Mr. Bonn, Erik W    Secretary
Mr. Hayes, David A    Member
Mr. Elder, Grant McKenzie    Member
Ms. Alverson, Carlotta O    Member
Ms. Bartov, Michelle S    Member
Ms. Hackman, Ekua A    Member
Ms. Steele, Autumn Nicole    Member
Mr. Chase, Gabriel M    BOG Contact
Ms. Petrecca, Catherine     Bar Liaison
Batiste, Natalie     Bar Liaison