Oregon State Bar Bulletin APRIL 2002

Among Ourselves

The Consul of the Federal Republic of Germany has presented the government of Germany's Friendship Award to Eugene attorney Bill Sharp. Sharp has been involved in bringing many German visitors, students and athletes to the Eugene area over the past 25 years. Upon graduating from the Oregon Law School in 1978, Sharp began practicing law in Eugene. Almost immediately he brought German interns into his firm. The first among them was Armin Stapel, who has a very successful legal practice in Berlin. Both of Armin's children later attended South Eugene High School for a year. The most recent intern, Magda Haase, recently returned to her legal studies at Marburg University. Sharp has contributed to mutual understanding and appreciation between practitioners of the legal systems of Germany and the United States over the years.

The Oregon chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates awarded retiring Judge Robert P. Jones the Trial Lawyer of the Year Award at its annual dinner at the RiverPlace Hotel last December. ABOTA is a national organization whose goal is to preserve and enhance the jury trial system and to promote professionalism. Contrary to its name, the Trial Lawyer of the Year Award is regarded as a lifetime achievement award. President Mike McClinton told the audience that it is presented to a person 'who makes us proud to be trial lawyers and whose career exemplifies ABOTA's purpose.' Speaking in tribute to Judge Jones were Bob Keating, Chuck Paulson, Scott O'Donnell, Judge Lyle Velure and Judge Anna Brown. Judge Jones' son, Steve, gave an acceptance speech on his father's behalf.

The Clackamas County Bar Association has elected West Linn attorney Michael D. Walsh as its president for 2002. Roderick A. Boutin of Oregon City is the vice president. Chief deputy district attorney Gregory D. Horner is the secretary and assistant county counsel Kimberly Ybarra will serve as treasurer. Membership applications are available from the officers.

Pamela J. Beery, partner in the firm Beery & Elsner in Portland, has been appointed to the Federal Communications Commission's Local and State Government Advisory Committee. Comprised of elected and appointed officials of municipal, county, state and tribal governments, the committee advises the FCC on key issues relevant to local and state government in the area of telecommunications law and policy.

George Riemer, deputy director and general counsel of the Oregon State Bar, has been invited to speak at the National Conference of Bar Examiners' 2002 seminar which will be held in Chicago in April. His presentation at the 'Bright Ideas in Bar Admissions' seminar will be on the subject of cross-jurisdictional practice.

The American Jewish Committee Portland chapter's Human Relations Award Dinner, Dec. 4, attracted some 280 guests to the Hilton Hotel. Annually the chapter honors a corporation or community leader for their profound commitment to preserving our heritage of democracy. This year's honoree was Stoel Rives. Chief Justice Wallace Carson of the Oregon Supreme Court was the keynote speaker. He noted that Stoel Rives sees its role as extending beyond its clients and includes helping to shape the communities where it works.

Leonard DuBoff will be a featured speaker at the National Convention of American Society of Appraisers to be held in San Diego this August. DuBoff, author of numerous books and scholarly articles, will discuss the role of appraisers in litigation and other law-related projects. The American Society of Appraisers covers all forms of appraisal from business to real estate and includes personal property, such as jewelry and art.

Jim Garrett, a former vice-president of the OSB and a leader in the creation of Marion-Polk Legal Aid Society, has been named the winner of the Marion County Bar Association's professionalism award. Garrett, also instrumental in developing the state bar's Professional Liability Fund, was among the honorees at last week's MCBA award banquet in Salem. Others honored included Diane Reynolds, career services director for the Willamette University Law School. Reynolds won the Stuart Compton award honoring contributions to the legal community by a non-lawyer. She developed the school's mentoring program between law students and area attorneys. Stephanie Smythe, Salem city attorney, was selected for the Carson Award for service to the bar association. Raymond Ramsay won the Carson Award for service to the community for his work with the county's Mental Health Advisory board. The bar association also honored several attorneys for their commitment to providing pro bono legal service. Daniel J. Lounsbury was named firm of the year. Named lawyer of the year was Christopher J. Casebeer. Emeritus lawyers of the year were Merrily McCabe and Gearold L. Sliger. Oregon Attorney General Hardy Myers was named governmental lawyer of the year, and John H. Case received the Arno Denecke award, honoring lawyers with fewer than five years' experience.

William P. Hutchison of Tooze, Duden, Creamer, Frank & Hutchison, has been appointed as chair of the legal, tax and accounting committee of the National Council of Farmer Cooperatives. The LTA Committee is composed of lawyers and accountants from throughout the nation who specialize in cooperative matters. Hutchison is a partner in the Portland firm and specializes in cooperative, corporate, environmental and real property matters.

Portland attorney Samuel W. Asbury was recently elected chairman of the Planning Commission for the city of Fairview.

return to top
return to Table of Contents