Among Ourselves

The International Academy of Mediators has elected Susan Hammer of Portland to be a fellow. The academy promotes mediation as a discipline and profession, and defines standards and qualifications for the professional mediator of commercial disputes.

Former U.S. Agriculture Secretary Dan Glickman has appointed Douglas Pahl, an associate with Perkins Coie in Portland, to chair the Opal Creek Federal Advisory Council. Pahl had previously been appointed to serve as a member of the council by Gov. John Kitzhaber. The council will work with the U.S. Forest Service to develop a management plan for the 36,000-acre Opal Creek Wilderness and Scenic Recreation Area, located east of Salem. Pahl's law practice focuses on issues in litigation, bankruptcy and debtor/creditor matters.

Stephen S. Walters, a member of Stoel Rives' litigation department, has become a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. Walters has been practicing in Portland for 21 years. The Stanford University School of Law alumnus concentrates in the area of litigation with a particular emphasis in complex business, commercial and energy cases. He has taught courses on federal courts and constitutional law at the University of Pennsylvania and Northwestern School of Law of Lewis & Clark College and has been a speaker on various topics relating to complex civil litigation.

Portland lawyer Paul R. Hribernick, partner at Black Helterline, has been appointed a trustee of the American Immigration Law Foundation. The foundation's mission is to promote understanding among the general public of immigration law and policy through education, policy analysis and litigation support. Hribernick will serve as a member of the foundation's global competitiveness project, dedicated to increasing the competitiveness of United States business through immigration.

University of Oregon President Dave Frohnmayer has received from the alumni association of his law school alma mater its highest award - the 1999 Citation Award. Frohnmayer, a 1967 graduate of Boalt Hall, the law school of the University of California at Berkeley, was recognized for 'exceptional achievement by a Boalt Hall alumnus who distinguishes him/herself in the legal profession and has thereby brought renown to the law school.'

Karna Gustafson, a partner with the law firm of Landye Bennett Blumstein, has been elected president of the Community Associations Institute, Oregon chapter, for a one-year term. The national, non-profit association provides education and representation for America's 205,000 residential condominium, cooperative and homeowner associations, as well as related professional and service providers. Gustafson joined Landye Bennett Blumstein in 1995 and focuses her practice on real estate transactions and development, community associations and condominium projects.

Jonathan Hoffman announces the release of his new CD, 'Guess I'll Have to Write My Own,' a collection of 13 songs he composed. The CD is available online at and, as well as other online retailers. Meanwhile, on this planet, he continues to practice as a partner with Martin, Bischoff, Templeton, Langslet & Hoffman in Portland.

R. Juge Gregg, an associate with Perkins Coie in Portland, recently became a member of the boards of the Oregon Association of Environmental Professionals and the Portland Stanford Association. The Oregon Association of Environmental Professionals is a non-profit organization providing a forum for the discussion of the latest developments in environmental regulation, control technologies and business opportunities in the environmental field. The Portland Stanford Association is Oregon's Stanford University alumni group. Gregg's practice focuses on environmental and natural resources law.

Tom Lindley, a partner in the Portland office of Perkins Coie, has agreed to chair the Associated Oregon Industries Sustainability and Incentives Task Force for the 2001 legislative session. Lindley's practice focuses on environmental and natural resources law.

Attorney Daniel O'Leary is this year's recipient of the Multnomah Bar Association's prestigious Professionalism Award, presented at the MBA Annual Meeting on May 21. The award recognizes a Portland-area member 'for the highest ethical standards and exemplary conduct in the practice of law.' O'Leary is a partner in Davis Wright Tremaine's Portland office and has practiced civil litigation since 1963. He also has a master's degree in environmental and natural resources law and provides alternative dispute resolution services. The MBA also recognized these lawyers as Award of Merit recipients - for outstanding service to the profession, justice system and/or the community: Michael Bloom, Mark Bonanno, Eugene Buckle, Michael Hanlon, Christopher Marshall and Robert Thuemmel. Carson Bowler received the Young Lawyers Section Award of Merit. Pro bono awards, acknowledging lawyers who have made extraordinary commitments to serving the poor, were presented to Thomas Jurney, Todd Trierweiler and Jane Patterson.

OSB member Leif Palmer, an associate regional counsel in the Environmental Protection Agency's Region 4 office in Atlanta, was recently awarded a vice presidential award for re-invention of government and a silver medal by the EPA for his work on the redevelopment of the contaminated 138-acre Atlantic Steel millsite in Atlanta, Ga. The Atlantic Steel project is one of the largest brownfields redevelopments in the history of EPA. In 1998, Palmer was awarded a bronze medal by the EPA for his work in assisting the Department of Interior negotiate a $132 million land sales contract for the acquisition of the 57,000-acre Talisman Sugar Plantation for Everglades restoration purposes. The Talisman Plantation is located between Lake Okeechobee and the Everglades and is a crucial part of the Everglades restoration strategy.

Thirteen Lane Powell Spears Lubersky attorneys were recognized by the Multnomah Bar Association, Legal Aid Services of Oregon and the Oregon Law Center for their participation in the pro bono programs operated in Multnomah County by Legal Aid Services of Oregon and the Oregon Law Center. The 13 attorneys include: Craig D. Bachman, Anne W. Glazer, Bruce C. Hamlin, Charles F. Hudson, Robert Koury, Peter Livingston, Stephen P. McCarthy, Lee C. Nusich, William T. Patton, Donald H. Pyle, Vicki L. Smith, Carolyn Walker and Jack C. Walsh.

Lane Powell Spears Lubersky partner Christopher J. Marshall was honored as a recipient of the Multnomah Bar Association's Award of Merit for outstanding service to the profession, justice system and the community.

Nelson D. Atkin II, an attorney at Barran Liebman, Portland, has been elected into the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers. This recognition of professionals who have made 'a sustained contribution to the field' is considered among the highest honors in the field of employment and labor law. Installation of the fellows will be held Aug. 5 in Chicago. Atkin has been practicing labor and employment law since graduating from Syracuse University College of Law in 1974. +

return to top

return to Table of Contents