OSB Events

Oregon State Bar Annual Awards

Annual Awards Lunchean

Each year, based on nominations from members and the public, the Oregon State Bar honors a select group of lawyers and judges who have made outstanding contributions to the community and the profession.
The following awards will be presented in 2014:

The President’s Membership Service Award, which honors attorneys for contributions made to the profession, will be presented to Edward J. Harri and Renee E. Rothauge.

The President’s Public Service Award, which honors attorneys for their commitments to public service and pro bono work, will be presented to Hong Kim Thi Dao, Stephen L. Griffith and Lake James H. Perriguey.

The President’s Diversity & Inclusion Award, which recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the goal of increasing minority representation in the legal profession, will be presented to Liani JH Reeves and Kim Sugawa-Fujinaga.

The President’s Sustainability Award recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the goal of sustainability in the legal profession in Oregon through education, advocacy, leadership in adopting sustainable business practices, or other significant efforts. This year’s recipient is Steven R. Schell.

The President’s Special Award of Appreciation is presented to people who have made recent outstanding contributions to the bar, the bench and/or the community. This year’s recipients are George L. Anderson
and William E. Taylor, Jr.

The Wallace P. Carson, Jr., Award for Judicial Excellence recognizes an Oregon judge who has made significant contributions to the judicial system and who is a model of professionalism, integrity and judicial independence. The recipients are the Honorable Alfred T. Goodwin and the Honorable Nan G. Waller.

The bar’s highest honor, the Award of Merit, recognizes an Oregon lawyer who has made outstanding contributions to the bench, the bar and the community-at-large, and who exhibits the highest standards of professionalism. The Award of Merit will be presented to Ira Zarov.

In addition, the Oregon Bench & Bar Commission on Professionalism announces its recipient:
Edwin J. Peterson Professionalism Award: John M. Haroldson

The annual OSB Award Luncheon will be held on Thursday, December 4, from 11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m. at The Sentinel Hotel, 614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205. Individual tickets are $28 and reserved tables for 10 are $280. To purchase tickets please complete a registration form or email events@osbar.org.

50-Year Member Recognition Event Honoring the Class of 1964

Members of the Oregon State Bar’s Class of 1964 marked their 50th year of membership with a celebration at the Tualatin Valley Country Club on April 4, 2014. Thirty class members along with family, friends and the Board of Governors attended the luncheon in their honor. see more and download photos...

1964 Class Photo